Opposition meets President to discuss the disputed agricultural bill

Opposition meets President to discuss the disputed agricultural bill

On Tuesday, the opposition boycotted the ongoing session over Centre’s refusal to accept its demand for withdrawal of farm bills passed by Parliament.

The opposition decided to meet President Ramnath Kovind on Wednesday to talk about the ongoing controversy. Earlier, Only five opposition leaders were allowed to meet the President at 5 PM , reports said.

On Sunday, the Rajya Sabha passed two contentious key farm bills – Farmer’s Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020, and the Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement of Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020) through voice vote.

The meeting between Mr Ghulam Nabi Azad,the leader of opposition in Rajyasabha, and the President comes a day after the opposition parties boycotted parliament.

“The government should have consulted all parties and farmer leaders before bringing the farm bills,” Mr Azad said after meeting the President. “We have given a representation to President that the farm bills have been passed unconstitutionally and he should return these bills,” Mr Azad said, news agency ANI reported.

On Tuesday, Rajya Sabha passed seven bills in three-and-a-half hours in the absence of opposition parties. Mr. Azad wrote to Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu in this context, “These bills affect the livelihood of crores of workers. It will be a great blot on democracy to have these bills passed unilaterally today.” However, The Government has said the three labour bills, cleared by Rajya Sabha, will give a safe environment to workers.

Following the ruckus in the Upper House on Sunday, eight Opposition MPs, including Trinamool Congress floor leader Derek O’Brien and AAP’s Sanjay Singh, were suspended from Rajya Sabha for a week under Rule 256(2) on Monday.

The opposition also demanded to revocate the suspension of the eight Rajya Sabha members, including Trinamool Congress’s Derek O’Brien, Aam Aadmi Party’s Sanjay Singh, Congress’s Rajeev Satav and CPM’s KK Ragesh.

The suspended members continued their sit-in on the lawns of the parliament complex on Tuesday till about 11.30 am after spending the night there in protest. “We will consider revoking suspension only after the suspended Rajya Sabha members apologise for their behaviour,” Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad told reporters on Tuesday.

Read more: Agricultural bills passed in Lower House creates controversy ; farmers protest, Know why

Read more: Centre says ‘No Data maintained on death of migrant workers’ What is the ground reality ?

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: